(844) 815-9632

Pennsylvania Underage Alcohol Offenses

Pennsylvania Underage Drinking

Underage Drinking

Under Pennsylvania Law Statute 18 Pa. C.S. 6308, a person is guilty if they are under the age of 21 and;

  1. Purchase;
  2. Attempt to purchase;
  3. Consume;
  4. Possess; or
  5. Knowingly transport any beverage that contains .50% of alcohol by volume (a/b/v).

It is important to note that a “non-alcoholic” beverage, such as O’Doul’s, contain .50% of alcohol by volume and would constitute a violation under this section.

Penalties for Underage Drinking

Under PA law Underage Drinking is a summary offense and penalties are determined by the number of prior offenses accordingly;

First Offense

  • 90 day loss of driver’s license
  • A maximum fine of $300
  • 90 days in jail (uncommon)
  • Notification of parents or guardians (under 18 offenders)

Second Offense

  • 1 year loss of driver’s license
  • A fine of $500+
  • 90 days in jail (uncommon)
  • Notification of parents or guardians (under 18 offenders)

Third Offense

  • 2 year loss of driver’s license
  • A maximum fine of $500+
  • 90 days in jail (uncommon)
  • Notification of parents or guardians (under 18 offenders)

Alternative Adjudication Programs

Some jurisdictions provide for alternatives to the traditional penalties above. Most only apply to first time offenders and usually include community service, alcohol education classes, and other penalties the judge sees fit. Upon successful completion, the court will dismiss the charges against you. It is important to note that there are strict procedures employed and one must adhere to them in order to successfully complete the program.

If you are facing an Underage Drinking charge and are in need of an Underage Drinking defense attorney or Underage defense law firm, please do not hesitate to contact us Banks Law Group at 844-815-9632 and speak with one of our trusted Underage Drinking criminal lawyers.